Benedict Cumberbatch Talks Doctor Strange, Sherlock, and Fatherhood

By Kierstyn Kiser
4/24/2017

Today - Season 62

       Last Monday, WAK News had the opportunity to sit down with actor Benedict Cumberbatch as he promotes his upcoming movie Doctor Strange. We also discussed the new season of the hit series Sherlock, and family life.

How did you like playing Doctor Strange?

Oh, it was great fun. He is just such a dynamic character and it was very fun to play him.

How different was this role from anything you’ve done before?

Well, for starters, I had an American accent. There was a lot of hand moving that felt quite ridiculous while filming, but when I saw the special effects added to it, it looked quite good. It was also the first time I had the role of a superhero, which I think added a heavy sense of responsibility to do a good job of it.

Were there any similarities between this role and previous roles you’ve had?

There were some definite similarities in that I’ve played other characters that have a narcissistic, pompous, sort of arrogant air about them. I’ve played several characters who think they know everything and everyone around them lowers the IQ of the whole street.

Speaking of that, can you tell us anything about Season 4 of Sherlock?

Ah, no. No I can’t. I’d just ruin it. I will say this though. When I first got the script, there were several jaw dropping moments where I just sat there in shock at some of the twists. Moffat and Gatiss have really outdone themselves with this season. It’s certainly going to be the best season yet.

Well that certainly sounds promising.

There has been quite a bit of rumors going around that you and your wife are expecting your second child. Would you care to shed some light on that?

Yes, yes we are.

And how have you adapted to being a father? There are some who say that is your greatest achievement yet.

 Well I’m still trying to prove myself as a dad. I love my son so much but you never know when you’ll slip up and make a big mistake.

Well congratulations to you and your wife, and thank you very much for your time.

Thank you, and thanks for having me.

Leave a comment